The Palace Street School at Front and Cherry Street (1858) is the oldest multi-room school house in Toronto. At the time Front Street was called Palace Street and this area was considered “downtown”. Fern Street in Parkdale was also called Cherry Street.
The red square outlines the original school and the blue outline a later addition known as the Palace Street Hotel.
The boys entrance.
From the photo above (1950’s)you can see it’s being used as a warehouse for Tippit- Richardson Moving and Storage. Across the street was a Regent Gas Station.
This view shows the Hotel addition that for many years was known as the Canary Restaurant. These buildings are all owned by the Provincial Government and will be used in the upcoming Pan Am Games.
Looking into the empty hotel a safe can be seen at the back. Legend has it that bootleg whiskey was stored here during prohibition, before being smuggled south of the border. For more detailed information on the Palace Street School click here.
This school on Louisa Street, built in 1862, is strikingly similar in design to the Palace School.
Louisa Street is no more but it did run east west between Yonge and Terauley (Bay) south of Agnes street (now Dundas).
The school was demolished sometime between 1913 and 1922 when it was replaced by an Eatons’ factory/warehouse.
The iconic Canary Restaurant as shot by Bill Wrigley.
Agnes Street was renamed Dundas.
See comment below.