What's the Future Ever Done for Me?

Adelaide and Jarvis Street/Then and Now

pictures-r-5979 The J. Nasmith Bakery on the S/W corner of Adelaide and Jarvis looking west along Adelaide.

nasmith bakeryAs you can see from this early map, Adelaide has since been re aligned to connect with Duke Street.

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 11.27.56 AM1908Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 8.17.50 AMScreen Shot 2013-03-06 at 8.22.40 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 8.22.49 AM

 They also had lunch counters at 1408 Queen West, 470 Spadina Ave, 162 Yonge St. 53 King West, 51 King East and 68 Jarvis St.

BAGGrKNCUAEgCl1Theatre_Passe_MurailleThe former Nasmith bakery and Stables on Ryerson Ave.

Nasmith3.jpgNasmith2.jpgNasmith1.jpg

A rare paper weight courtesy of Mgenter.

3 responses

  1. Gillian Coy

    Hello,
    I am a descendant of J. Nasmith and am always searching for images of Nasmith’s Bread. A few years ago my Uncle had a glass paperweight with advertising for the lunch counters on it. He gave it to my cousin and I’m always on the lookout for one of my own. I would love to see an image of the lunch counters as they were back then, but I have never seen one. Do you know if one exists? Thank you, Gillian Nasmith

    November 22, 2015 at 3:42 pm

    • Nancy

      Hi. Found your note when researching a paperweight that I am planning on selling.

      November 27, 2016 at 7:26 am

  2. I’ve never scene one but will keep my eyes open for one. There’s also a Nasmith Ave. in the east end of Toronto.

    November 23, 2015 at 2:40 am

Leave a Reply

