What's the Future Ever Done for Me?

King and John/Then and Now

King and John/Then and NowKing and John/Then and NowKing Street in the winter of 1961 looking west from John, Farb’s Car Wash (“The World’s Finest”) is on the right. A closer look at the south side reveals Authors and Cox sellers of medical trusses (hernia belts) crutches, supporters and invalid chairs. Behind, peaking out is a sign for Wilcox Signs, still in business and now located on Dundas near Dufferin.

King and John/Then and Now
The same view in 2010
4 responses

  1. michael lalonde

    Pics brings back memories. I worked there for most of 1968. In those days you were picked out of a lineup every morning for work that day. They had 8 full time regulars if my memory is correct. They picked maybe six extra people in the lineup. I was fortunate to get picked every morning. I was pretty skinny and agile so I became there inside windows cleaner.
    Pay sucked. I made 10.75 per day working 8 hrs. After I left, a year later I heard they were looking for me to offer me a full time position.
    It was owned by two or three jewish brothers. It was an extremely busy car wash even in winter. I know one of the brothers was a heavy cigar smoker.
    Never did take them up on the job offer. So I settled for being a good pool player and living in the streets.
    But I made it. Although my home now is on vancouver island. It’s been a long journey and Farbs car wash was part of it.

    mike

    May 10, 2015 at 5:39 pm

    • Good story. We shot part of a movie there in 1987 and I was there today having a drink. I talked about Farb’s and sometimes prefer it to what’s there now…

      May 10, 2015 at 11:45 pm

      • michael lalonde

        Hi Greg

        Just curious. What was the movie about?

        The aft picture is amazing how different it looks. Street looks closed in with all these high buildings.

        May 31, 2015 at 12:03 pm

  2. A small Canadian film called “Buying Time in Phoenix”…

    June 1, 2015 at 12:52 am

Leave a Reply

